You are here: Home / Research / Links for Your Every Need / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
Madison County Genealogical Web Page
Madison County Genealogical Web Page
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.
Atlas of Madison County, Iowa
A full-text digital copy of a 1912 Atlas of Madison County, Iowa
1915 History of Madison County, Iowa, and It's People Vol. I
A 1915 history of Madison County, Iowa and it's people.
History and Business Directory of Madison County, Iowa, 1869
A 1869 history and business directory of Madison County, Iowa.
1915 History of Madison County, Iowa, and It's People Vol. II
Winterset Newspapers are now digitized, 1871-1977
A digitized version of The Winterset Madisonian and all it's title variations from 1871-1977, and also the various years of The Winterset News, The Winterset Reporter, The Winterset Review, The Madison County Reporter, and all their title variations are now available online. This is a new free online historical research tool.